Sometimes you gotta un-plug to recharge…

hmmm, new ideas for recharging looking at that pair of double As...

AA Battery courtesy sscreations/FreeDigitalPhotos.net

So the difficulty in having a blog that is not event based is that you can’t draw on a wealth of topics and feedback.

For example, if this were a wedding blog I could track my progress to the date, all the to-dos and not to-dos, the stress, the joy, the journey – and people similarly progressing to nuptials might join in and offer up their bits of sage wisdom or differing opinions. If this were a mommy blog I could discuss the many amazing things my kids do, the insanity that is advice from others, the headaches of dealing with schools, and other parents might tune in to commiserate and offer new perspectives.

But this is a community blog about my ongoing search for, maintenance of, and philosophy surrounding community.

So tonight I’m a little stuck for inspiration. After all, nobody really wants to read about Dashing ALL the time, and I really don’t want to write about him ALL the time. Also, midweek, slow time on the friend front, but I should have something for tomorrow or Friday.

I guess for tonight I’ll have to settle for this, a good book, and saying congratulations to President Obama on his re-election!

Here’s wishing everyone out there a happy recharge-your-batteries night!

What do you do to unwind?

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by thesmittenimmigrant on November 8, 2012 at 4:53 am

    I take walks to unwind πŸ™‚

    With regards to subjects for a community-blog: maybe you could address introversion? I don’t know if you identify as an introvert, but it’s a subject that could do with more attention, especially because female introverts are seen as the oddest ducks (more so than men, I think).

    What are you reading?

    Reply

    • Oh, I love walks. It’s getting dark too early to really enjoy them solo though, at least around here. I will definitely cover introversion – and extroversion. I actually identify as both. Thank you for the suggestion. I am reading (and please, no judgement) Twilight. They’re actually not bad books. I haven’t seen the films (and I don’t intend to), but I do find that Stephanie Meyer does a great job of modernizing the classic vampire tale – seduction, innocence lost, and there’s a lot about blended family – communities of origin versus communities of creation. The teenage passion stuff is soothing to me right now (Dashing drama!!), and it makes me laugh.

      Reply

      • Posted by thesmittenimmigrant on November 9, 2012 at 9:17 am

        Oh, I’m the last one you have to defend your book choices to πŸ™‚ I won’t be reading Twilight myself, but I’ve definitely read other vampire-erotica (Laurell K. Hamilton’s Anita Blake series, for instance), so I know what you mean.

        I’ll have to go digging in your archives to figure out who ‘Dashing’ is. I’m sure I’ll have time for that soon.

      • I’m flattered that you would spend time to dig through my archives – there’s not that many of them! Dashing is my code name for my current partner – our relationship status is, complicated. πŸ™‚ Isn’t everything? I’ve never heard of the Anita Blake series, I may just look it up!

Thanks for visiting - Please engage in the discussion below, and let me know your thoughts. Please note that any non-constructive comments or those unrelated to the post will be moderated. If you have any questions or concerns regarding this policy, please feel free to contact me.

Student living and me.

Just life. But through the eyes of a Blue-eyed History student.

Offbeat Empire

Niche lifestyle network

@offbeatfamilies

Redefining family: the archives

Offbeat Home & Life

Where awesome lives

Exploring community through thought and experience...

Tanis Miller

Exploring community through thought and experience...

Offbeat Bride

Creative Alternatives for Independent Brides

FreeRangeKids

Give Our Kids the Freedom We Had

