Bondage to Buddies: Going From Bonding Over A Unique Commonality to Friends

The ultimate bonding activity

Three Legged Race courtesy State Library of Victoria used by Creative Commons License

It is amazing the strange things over which people bond. I’ve had friends with whom I shared one class in university – that’s all. One class. I’ve made friends over brands of yogurt in the grocery aisle. I once had a community of picky eaters within a cast for a show I was in – Picky Eaters Unite! I can have fabulous conversations with people I run into while walking home and reading Harry Potter, or stopping by a war monument in a park, or sitting in traffic (true stories! – and not just this one).

My point is, I’m approachable, I have spark, and some people enjoy conversing with me – but the initial bond isn’t always enough of a foundation on which to build a lasting friendship. I’ve talked about how to keep friends – let’s talk about how to make friends. From initial sparks to person you can phone and call by first name – without trying to sell them anything.

This will be a weekly series (well, we’ll try for weekly!). At the end of which, maybe I’ll try out some of the techniques and work on expanding my community and report back as to which theories worked for me.

Stayed tuned for the thought experiments on how to make friends – starting next week!

For now let’s get a little silly – what crazy bonds have you formed that led to (or didn’t) lasting friendships?

Thanks for visiting - Please engage in the discussion below, and let me know your thoughts. Please note that any non-constructive comments or those unrelated to the post will be moderated. If you have any questions or concerns regarding this policy, please feel free to contact me.

Student living and me.

Just life. But through the eyes of a Blue-eyed History student.

Offbeat Empire

Niche lifestyle network

@offbeatfamilies

Redefining family: the archives

Offbeat Home & Life

Where awesome lives

Exploring community through thought and experience...

Tanis Miller

Exploring community through thought and experience...

Offbeat Bride

Creative Alternatives for Independent Brides

FreeRangeKids

Give Our Kids the Freedom We Had

